Surface Treatment &
Access Solutions

home   /   about_us  /   what_is_vca**

What is VCA**

VCA is an abbreviation for a Dutch safety standard and it stands for:
  • Health Safety and Environment (Veiligheid, Gezondheid en Milieu “VGM”)
  • Checklist
  • For Contractors (Aannemers)
This checklist is a certified checklist (in our case by Lloyds Register) and certified contractors do meet the standards for HSE whilst performing their activities. Meeting this standard also means that people working with these contractors have a professional safety awareness.

Certification proves professional safety requirements for operational as well as for management levels. The certificate runs for 10 years and needs frequent updates through toolbox meetings, instructions and education.

History of VCA

The need for decreasing the number of accidents and to increase professional safety levels and awareness in Offshore as well as (Petro)chemical industry was the start of the norm. Recently this norm is used in civil construction work and in other branches.
VCA is not obligated by law. Customers can require the norm, it is the choice of contractors to meet the requirements.
VCA has been based on the ISRS (International Sustainability Rating) system. This system was also the basis for the current ISO systems for health safety and environment.

Safety levels within VCA

The norm has three levels: one star, two star and p.

The two star (**) certificate is applicable for main contractors with at least 35 people on the payroll. One star (*) is applicable for smaller businesses. “p” is applicable for contractors working in petrochemical industry.